AOV is a useful metric for looking at your customers’ buying habits. It can help you identify trends, find ways to improve your sales and gauge the success of your efforts.
If you’re an entrepreneur and want to refine your business plan, this guide will tell you everything you need to know to get the most out of this metric. That includes how to calculate your AOV, how to improve it, and some ways to avoid common pitfalls.
What is AOV?
AOV stands for Average Order Value. It’s a business metric that measures how much your customers typically spend per order.
How to calculate AOV
Calculating your AOV is simple. All you need to do is choose a time period and then divide your total revenue by the number of orders. The answer is your AOV.
For example, if last month you made $10,000 in revenue, and had 200 orders, your AOV is $50.
10,000 / 200 = 50
Typically, businesses will calculate their AOV for each month so they can monitor changes, but you can use it to look at any time period.
Why is AOV important?
Knowing your business’s Average Order Value can be useful in many ways. Firstly, it can give you a way to learn about your customers’ buying habits. This can help when you want to gauge the success of your business in many areas, including: